Jeremy Lin in NBA

It was very encouraging to read about Jeremy Lin and his faith in the article below:

Jeremy Lin grew up a Christian and one day wanted to be come a pastor to spread the good word. He puts God and his faith in front of everything including family, friends, basketball, and good food. Some of his favorite quotes from the Bible are below:

Romans 5:3-5 Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.

Colossians 3:23 Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.

His devout Christian upbringing has given him the identity of first a Christian and then as the person he is now. This may be unusual considering Jeremy Lin’s Taiwanese background are only 4.5% adherents of Christianity.

In an interview with Timothy Dalrymple, Jeremy Lin is asked “If your dreams came true, what would your future in the game of basketball look like?” He responds with:

“If my basketball dreams came true I would playing in the NBA, preferably for one of my favorite teams. If I could choose where I would say the Golden State Warriors because that is where I’m from. But I would love to play in the NBA and that would be my ultimate dream and from that I would want to do a lot of things. I told myself if i made it in the NBA and stayed there for longer than a 10 day contract, I would write an autobiography and talk a lot about my faith. Society loves sports and society loves basketball and I think that would be a good way for me to reach out to people and to spread the word. I also know I want to do some type of ministry in urban communities and I think basketball is the perfect alley for that.”

Jeremy Lin as the first Asian-American basketball player in the NBA, naturally has a lot of fans, followers, and kids who look up to him. He is asked this in the interview: “What advice would you give to a young athlete who wants to grow in his faith and pursue his athletic dreams at the same time?”

“The biggest thing is to understand that your talent and your ability to play basketball is a gift from God. The biggest thing is to understand is to use that for God’s glory. I think when you do that everything else starts to make sense. And playing basketball becomes a lot more related to Christianity when you play like that. I think also I needed learn was that just because you pray and give it up to God doesn’t mean that you will win and doesn’t mean that you will have a great performance. But I think there’s something special about playing the right way and playing with the right attitude even if you don’t win or have a successful career.”

You can also see Jeremy Lin on and off the court, wearing his orange “In Jesus Name” band around his wrist.

Leave a Reply

