Shaken to be unshakable

I watched a pastor preaching in Spanish on a Christian channel yesterday. It was a sermon about faith. During the sermon, he shared a statement in English which caught my attention – “We have to be first shaken to have unshakable faith.”

I can really identify with what he was saying. I remember in our first year in Ecuador, we were gun-pointed and robbed somewhere near our house. After that incident, I was not only shaken in my faith, but also shaken emotionally and mentally. It really took us some time to recover from the incident but we have been more careful ever since. It was a learning experience for us. We never thought it could happen to us but it happened. God allowed it to happen so that we could grow and learn from the experience.

The number of times we were discouraged and disappointed in the missions field is uncountable but we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love Him (Romans 8:28). After almost 2 years in Ecuador, PR and I feel that we have grown stronger in our faith and matured more as a person. Church planting is really a life changing experience for us.

We have been shaken many times but I believe that God is preparing in our hearts an unshakable faith which cannot be affected easily by circumstances. It is true that our faith is tested by trials and real faith is developed through difficulties. In fact, faith is so much needed in difficult times, not in good times. It is through the tests of life when we know how strong our faith is. No wonder the bible teaches us to consider it pure joy when we face the different trials in life.🙂

“Jesus, help me to trust in you and praise you in both good times and seemingly bad times. “

“Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” – Psalms 23:4

Leave a Reply

