First phase of renovation

Claudia, Peiru and I helped Laoban in renovating his restaurant recently.🙂 Claudia studied interior design in university and she is very interested in decorating restaurants. She felt that the food at Laoban’s place is very good but the restaurant is rather old. So she offered to help Laoban design and renovate his restaurant for free!🙂 We painted the walls of the restaurant with bright colours last week but this was just the first phase of the renovation. Claudia is going to Switzerland to visit her family tomorrow for 2 weeks. We will wait for her to come back and start phase 2 – doing the ceiling and the floor. Below are a few photos of the wall:

7 comments

  1. Wow….. the colors are very nice an live! Laoban? sounds like a chifa… what kind of food do they sell there? Keep the good work! my greatings to Claudia!!

  2. Yes… good guess.🙂 It is our favourite Chinese restaurant in Quito. They sell many kinds of delicious Chinese food. We will bring you to try when you visit us for SALT conference next year.🙂 By the way, ‘Laoban’ means boss in Chinese. The ‘Laoban’ is our good friend.🙂

  3. Ohhhh!!! I see… wow… I long to visit you in Ecuador!!! Remember the chinese dragons and fireworks at the airport!!! hahahaha…. Laoban means boss… ohhh… nice word.. so I can call Laoban to Andrew!

    I learnt this word “o bian” I dunno how to write.. but when I design the invitation card for mother’s day.. Ruth Asked me to print it on pink paper.. yuck it looked very “o bian” meaning ol-fashioned.. is it liked that?… hahahaha….or again I gabra???

  4. hahaha.. ok Laura, we will prepare the dragons as much as we can. the fireworks.. have to ask the quito government for permission lah.. hahaha

    You learn very fast! I think you are becoming more Singaporean than us. hahahah.. it’s been such a long time since we said gabra or o-biang… yes.. o-biang is like yucks, garish, old-fashioned, gaudy, not-trendy or not-cool… etc. 😉 You are muy li hai! Well done you and well done your teachers! hehe..

    1. Hahahaha…… no problem you just tell the government that Laura is coming to Ecuador…. they will understand!!! hahahahaha…. Thanks for calling me Li Hai! Like that word! I herad Bo Liao!! what’s that?

  5. Bo Liao means boring, meaningless and insignificant. Andrew is a master of all these words. I am sure he can impart his power to you too!🙂

  6. Hahahaha… yes…. he is… Here Andrew always share with me not only singlish words but spirit of serving too!!! let’s keep the spirit always!!! =)

Leave a Reply

