Eric Liddell

Eric Henry Liddell (16 January 1902 – 21 February 1945, Chinese: 埃里克利德尔; pinyin: āilǐkè Lìdéĕr) was a Scottish athlete, rugby union international and missionary. Liddell was the winner of the Men’s 400 metres at the 1924 Summer Olympics held in Paris. He was portrayed in the movie Chariots of Fire. Born in China, Liddell returned there as a Protestant missionary in later life. Something he said always inspires me: “I believe God made me for a purpose. He also made me fast. And when I run, I feel His pleasure.”🙂 Below is a short video clip of his life in the movie Chariots of Fire:

Leave a Reply

