Purposes of our church

We have been cutting down on ministry and seeking God more recently. As our church moves to the next phase of growth, I am asking God where He is leading our church towards. I realized that as the church grows bigger, I cannot try to meet everyone’s needs. I read Rick Warren’s book entitled Purpose Driven Church 10 years ago but this time when I read it again, it makes so much sense to me now that I am leading a church.🙂

While I was reading and seeking God for His purpose for our church, He spoke to me through a phrase in Rick Warren’s book:“A Great Commitment to the Great Commandment and the Great Commission will grow a Great Church”. It excites me so much that I plan to paint this phrase in Spanish on the wall of our new church location and preach an opening sermon on this when we move to the new location.😀 In fact, I am going to write a sermon on this topic soon.

There are altogether 5 purposes in this phrase, based on the Great Commandment (Matt. 22:37-40 – Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”) and the Great Commission (Matt.28:19-20 “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”)

Purpose #1: Love the Lord with all your heart
Purpose #2: Love your neighbor as yourself
Purpose #3: Go and make disciples
Purpose #4: Baptizing them
Purpose #5: Teaching them to obey

I plan to preach more sermons on these purposes this year so that our people are on the same page and we can grow together.🙂 I hope that our people will embody the purposes and inspire other Christians to be disciples. It was clear that God wants us to to focus on discipleship. 8) While we are renovating our new place so that more people can join us for our church service, do pray for our church to be purpose driven and that our activities will be aligned with the purposes. We do not wish to grow a church that is driven by only activities and program. When the church grows bigger, I know I cannot please everybody but only God. It is so important to allow God’s leadership in this church.😀

Leave a Reply

