Something I learnt about trusting God

I read Hong Teck’s blog regularly because it is interesting and insightful. In one of his recent entries, he talked about the following:

I recommend 2 things to stop doing (and 2 things to start)

1. Stop putting trust in people & Stop believing God
Because people will always fail you and God doesn’t need you to believe in Him.

2. Start putting trust in God & Start believing people.
Because God will never fail you while people (almost everyone of them) desperately need someone to believe in them.

Someone commented asking: what’s the difference between trusting and believing?

Hong Teck’s reply is as below:

I learned that faith has two component, the believing component which is just cerebral and the trusting component which is an act.

Believing God is not an issue, even the devil believe God. But trusting is different, it is only when you have a real personal relationship with God and you know His goodness that you trust Him with demonstration of an action. eg. loving others, tithe, give, etc..etc.

The key to victorious living is in the trust, not in the believe because our friends down there believe too, everyone of them.

You can read the full entry at the link below:

http://www.ragsstudio.com/2008/11/13/the-activity-of-believing-in-people/#comments

What I found interesting was that WL told me something similar after I read the entry. He said that if people really trust God, they will work very hard. He told me that a lot of Christians just trust God and do not work hard, and this is not a balanced understanding of the bible. We should trust God so much that we work hard to see God move in our lives. Like what Hong Teck said, it is only when you have a real personal relationship with God and you know His goodness that you trust Him with a demonstration of action. eg. loving others, tithe, give, etc..etc. I think God spoke to me that if I really trust God, I should really demonstrate it with actions and work harder in my life.🙂

Leave a Reply

