Ministering spanish lesson

Sometimes it can be a dread to attend our daily spanish lessons. Thank God that it was a ministering spanish lesson yesterday. We learnt inperfect tense and we were supposed to share a story that we have read using preterit and inperfect tense. I shared the story of Jim Elliot of how he came to Ecuador to share the love of God, how he was killed and how his wife, Ellizabeth Elliot came back to share to the tribe that killed his husband. While I was sharing the story, God reminded me of how he convicted me to come to Ecuador through the story of Jim Elliot. The love and forgiveness of God were so evident in the lives of Jim Elliot and Ellizabeth Elliot.

Afetr the lesson, God also reminded me of verses of how he convicted me from Mark 8:34-36: “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me and for the gospel will save it. What good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?” I think it is always good to remind myself the reason to serve God in the midst of ministry.🙂

Another incident that came to my mind was at the LA airport on the way to Ecuador. While we were paying overweight surcharge, we met a Malaysian cyclist (he represents Malaysia in Olympics and other international competitions, he was paying overweight surcharge for his bicycle). We happened to be in the same queue and he spoke to us. We told him that we are going to Ecuador to teach and to do missions work and he asked us which country we are from. When we told him “Singapore”, I still remember he was very shocked and he said “That is very brave for Singaporeans!” I think God reminded me through this incident that if not for God, I will just be like most Singaporeans who stay comfortably in the country. Thank God for giving us courage and love to go out of Singapore. It is really an enriching experience for both of us! 8)

Leave a Reply

